In the end, it came down to two laps. And Marcus Ericsson remained on top to win “the Greatest Spectacle in Racing.” 

Jimmie Johnson crashed with six laps to go in the Indy 500 on Sunday, leading to a red flag with Ericsson leading Pato O’Ward and Tony Kanaan, the 2013 winner, by a two-second-plus margin.

Instead of crumbling, Ericsson met the challenge. Following the restart, the Chip Ganassi Racing driver crossed the finish line first in the two-lap showdown to win the 106th running of the Indianapolis 500. He and Kenny Bräck are the only drivers from Sweden to win the race. 

Ericson, 31, started fifth Sunday, behind teammates Scott Dixon and Alex Palou, Rinus VeeKay and Ed Carpenter, after a dominating performance by Ganassi drivers in last weekend’s qualifying. And while Dixon and Palou had miscues that took them out of contention, the Swede remained steady until the end.

Source link

Previous article‘Stranger Things’ Season 4 villain Vecna inspired by Freddy Krueger
Next articleWhat to know about the 2022 Indy 500 winner


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here